Posted by: heliamphora | 27 July, 2008

Pancakes!

I came home from work on Friday an hour late and exhausted in every way, and had myself a little cry. A sniffle had turned into a foul-tasting cold, and I’d run out of creativity long before I started work this morning. I wanted something nice for dinner but had no energy for cooking. So I concentrated my efforts on other kinds of food over the rest of the weekend.

Since I had no breadythings for Saturday’s breaky, I decided to try pancakes, after a long time without. I never was an expert at them, and sometimes my tummy complains. But I’ve done pretty well – not one, but two breakfasts of pancakes, and no major indigestion. Following my aim to avoid wheat when possible, I’ve been improvising recipes for barley pancakes. Here’s what I came up with.

Barley Pancakes version one

Barley Pancakes version one

Barley Banana Pancakes & Peaches

1 cup barley flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
up to 1 teaspoon cinnamon
¼ cup raw sugar
¼ teaspoon salt
soy/rice milk
1 ripe banana
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
margarine
raspberry jam
½ a 400g can of peach slices in juice

Warm a frying pan over medium-low heat. Sift the dry ingredients. Mash the banana, then stir in the other wet ingredients, using just enough rice/soy milk to reach your desired consistency. Combine wet and dry.

Grease the pan with a little margarine, and pour in about a third to a half cup of batter (I got four large pancakes out of the mixture). Turn the pancake when bubbles have formed and popped. Cook for another half a minute or so, then flip out onto a warm plate. Cook the remaining batter in the same way.

Serve the pancakes, with a stripe of raspberry jam on each, and a few peach slices.

Barley Pancakes, version two

Barley Pancakes, version two

Barley Berry Pancakes & Bananas

1 cup barley flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
up to 1 teaspoon cinnamon
¼ cup raw sugar
¼ teaspoon salt
soy/rice milk
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
replacement for one egg (I use Orgran)
½ cup thawed frozen raspberries
margarine
2 firm, ripe bananas
soy yoghurt with fruit

Warm a frying pan over medium-low heat. Sift the dry ingredients. Prepare the egg replacer, then stir in the other wet ingredients, using just enough rice.soy milk to reach your desired consistency. Combine wet and dry.

Grease the pan with a little margarine, and pour in about a third to a half cup of batter (I got four large pancakes out of the mixture). Turn the pancake when bubbles have formed and popped. Cook for another half a minute or so, then flip out onto a warm plate. Cook the remaining batter in the same way.

Peel, and slice the bananas in half lengthways. Lightly grease the pan again and fry the bananas until golden brown. Serve on top of the pancakes, with a few spoonfuls of yoghurt, and a sprinkling of cinnamon if desired.

Leave a Reply

Categories

