Posted by: heliamphora | 9 August, 2008

One Potato, Two Potato, Three Potato, Four!

Firstly, let’s pretend that I’m posting this last Thursday, the 31st of July. 😉

Point 1. I love potatoes. Love love love them. Cannot quantify just how much I do.

Point 2. I never liked mayonnaise. Blerg. But I began to thoroughly enjoy alternative potato salads a couple of years ago, i.e. sour cream based ones. Then, precisely one year ago(!), I went vegan.

I thought my veganniversary might be a good occasion to celebrate me, and my friend the humble spud, by inventing a vegan potato salad. Without, of course, using vegannaise/nayonnaise, which I am not enamoured of trying… especially at the prices they charge for the stuff.

Not sure why I elected to try tahini in the dressing – after all, I’ve noticed that it can make a dish bitter if used incorrectly. ‘Should be safe enough,’ I thought, ‘with some sweetener…’ and so I blended it with agave syrup for sweet, wholegrain mustard for tang, and lemon juice for tartness. Delicious wackiness ensued!

Tahini Potato Salad

Tahini Potato Salad

Tahini Potato Salad

Note: I neglected to write down the exact quantities at the time, so the following are guesstimations.

3 tablespoons tahini
2 tablespoons agave syrup
2 teaspoons wholegrain mustard
juice of 2-3 lemons
4-5 large-medium potatoes
400g can four-bean mix, or chickpeas
1 large firm, ripe avocado
salt & pepper to taste

Gently boil the potatoes in salted water until tender. Drain and rinse in cold water to take the heat off.

Whisk together the tahini, agave, mustard and lemon juice to make the dressing. If it is still too thick, add more lemon juice, or a little water. (Aim for the consistency of… er… sour cream or mayo. ^_^)

Rinse and drain the beans. Dice the avocado. Cut the potatoes into quarters or eighths, depending on size. Mix gently with the dressing so as not to break up the potatoes too much.

Season to taste, and serve.

Leave a Reply

Categories

