Posted by: heliamphora | 3 September, 2008

Of Grilled Tofu And Happiness.

I’m really beginning to like this stuff.

The pineapple started it!! I had a whole fresh ‘napple that needed to be used. I was lamenting in VW chat how I love the stuff, but hardly ever just sit and munch on it. So what could I do with it? Someone suggested grilling it. Funny how one doesn’t just think of such ideas, despite having included ‘napple on vege-kebabs in past barbecues. Anyway, I was intrigued… and my spoken ponder of quickly marinating some tofu (which I also happened to have) and skewering/searing the two together was met with many chatty cheers.

So I finally dragged out the grilling device. ‘Tis a grill-slash-sandwich-press… which means nice, easy grill lines on both sides at once. It’d been in storage since we moved last November. I can’t seem to find its drip tray, but vegan food doth not createth much icky drippy fatty stuff. Ha. I remember when I’d just gone vegan, I tried grilling tofu, and met with ambivalent results. I did not know diddly squat about how to flavour it back then. I have improoooved it.

Grilled Tofu & Pineapple

Grilled Tofu & Pineapple

half a pineapple
half a block of firm tofu
soy sauce
agave syrup
lemon juice
wholegrain mustard
grated ginger

kebab sticks

Whisk together the marinade ingredients.

Drain the tofu and, if you’re in a hurry like I was, press it as hard as you can without crushing it completely. If you have more time, press it over half an hour to an hour in the usual fashion. Cut it in half flatwise, then into squares or triangles as you like. Marinate for at least twenty minutes.

Turn on the grill to medium heat. Cut the skin and core off the pineapple, then slice it into pieces the same thickness as the tofu. Slide the pineapple and tofu onto skewers. Place the kebabs on the grill, and drizzle with any leftover marinade. Grill on both sides until nicely browned and those cool grill lines show up.

Devour.

Leave a Reply

Categories

